h1

Salty, Buttered, Vegan Scallops.

April 21, 2010

I’m not too big to say there is one or two things I miss from the old days of meat eating.  It’s always seafood.  Lox and scallops.  There are a few veg scallops that seem okay I guess.  There’s this one from Worthington, which I think is the only legit package (owned by Kellogg’s).  There are a few that have done the King Oyster mushroom route.  I made some a few moths ago and they were pretty good.   None of mine looked as good as The Chubby Vegetarians, or the first one I ever saw from Ladyvoxx on The PPK.

I’ve been using a lot of tofu since I recently found theFresh Tofu Inc., tofu.  It’s a totally different tofu.  It’s like westsoy, but better.  I like regular tofu, but when you try stuff like Fresh Tofu Inc., it’s like going from Gin Blossoms to The Beatles.  You can find a way to be snobby and alt in anything, even tofu.  I bought these little cookie cutters a while ago, and used them to cut the tofu into scallop shapes.  Saute them until they have some color in a little vegetable oil.

The butter is important.  Earth Balance gets really clear, and just sort of turns into oil when heated up.  To keep its creaminess, I added some cornstarch.  A few tablespoons or eyeballed, depending on how much butter you are using.  I also add salt, Earth Balance lacks that as well I think.  Whisk it and then add minced garlic after you start to get a creaminess going.  After you plate them and pour the butter on, squeeze a fresh lemon all over the tops.

4 comments

  1. OMG. Those look amazing. The perfect shape. Excellent work!


  2. Now I know what to cook for tomorrows dinner. That looks yum!


  3. Beautiful and brilliant! Why have I never tried cutouts on tofu?

    I went to a fancy vegan restaurant recently in Ottawa called Zen Kitchen and they served tofu scallops there. Basically they flash fried little rounds of soft tofu in a deep fryer and then threw them on the grill to give them char marks.


  4. These look absolutely delicious.



Leave a Reply

