h1

Ahhhoy!!!! Popcorn Shrimp (tofu) has arrived…..

April 8, 2010

I never knew that cocktail sauce was tasty.  Seemed like a grownup dip, never thought I would indulge myself.   I’ve been making these a bunch lately, and I’ve found its very important that you don’t buy pre-made cocktail sauce in plastic squirt bottles, its truly terrible.  I tried 2 different brands until I broke down and looked up the recipe.  It’s very time consuming, and cost a shit ton to make.
Cocktail Sauce recipe :

  • Ketchup
  • Minced Horseradish
  • Squirt of lemon juice

(takes about 2 1/2 minutes, stir well)

The tofu in this is really important.  I mentioned in my previous post that there is this Philly based brand called Fresh Tofu Inc. and a national brand called Westsoy.  These two brands don’t sit in water, and have a much more dense bite to them.  I made these with the regular tofu, and they just didn’t taste right.

Popcorn Shrimp Ingredients :

  • cubed tofu
  • 1/3  cup earth balance
  • 1 Tbls minced garlic
  • 1 Tbls Corn Starch
  • 2 Cups Chickpea Flour
  • 2 Tbls Old Bay
  • 1 Tbls onion powder
  • 1 Tbls Salt & Pepper
  • 1 Tbls Baking Powder

Melt the butter slightly, then whip the garlic and corn starch into it.  Let it firm up a bit.  Combine the chickpea flour, old bay, onion powder, baking powder ,s&p in a medium sized bowl.  First coat the tofu in the garlic butter, then cover in flour mix.  Deep fry and serve with cocktail sauce or whatevs.

One comment

  1. Yum! This will be on my to do list this weekend.



Leave a Reply

