h1

Smokey Chili *Day 3*

January 28, 2009

day-3-copy2

It’s day three, and being really broke never tasted so good.  It’s snowing outside, 18 degrees, and my girlfriend had “roomie” night tonight.  Which basically means I have to go away for a few hours to hang out with my male friends, and let them get wasted on wine.  Tonight was chili night, so it worked out well for everyone.  I’ve made 26 chili’s in the past year, and they’ve all just been O.K.  Nothing really grabbed me.  In fact I came in last place at a chili cook off for a friend of mine’s birthday.  This chili, is in fact, the one.  My dad always had a delicious chili growing up, and I’m now proud to say I have my own chili.  All of my previous recipes have come from recipes, so I decided to go rogue with this one, and just do my thing.  It’s a little smokey, delicious, and of course cheap.

Total cost about $11

  • 2 can black or pinto beans, drained
  • 2 can kidney beans, drained
  • 2 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 green peppers
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • 4 tbls of nutritional yeast
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup tbsp vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup of hickory allegro (my favorite marinade, basically soy and liquid smoke + some other shit)
  • 4 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tbls oregano
  • 4 tbls curry
  • 1 tbls turmeric
  • 4 tbls curry
  • 2 tbls smoked paprika
  • 1 tbls salt
  • 2 tbls ancho chili powder
  • 2 tbls mexican chili powder
  • 1 tbls red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 2 cups of hydrated  TVP
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 glass with 2 dudes wrestling on it

Cook the onions, green peppers and garlic first in the olive oil until transparent.  Slowly add the beans.  Let it simmer for a few minutes, and add all of the spices.  Go ahead and pull out your glass with two dudes wrestling on it, and serve hot.

Leave a Reply

