h1

Vegan KFC Double Down!!

April 15, 2010

Never has a stupid sandwich created such chaos on the internet as the Double Down from KFC.  I’ve seen a couple of Vegan Double Down’s floating around blogs, and no offense to this bro, but it’s not a sexy DD.  And it sort of looks a little healthy, steering clear of capturing the grossness enjoyed by KFC eaters in the US.  I’ve been making tons of fried chicken after I found Cest La Vegans post a couple of weeks ago.  It’s really an amazing recipe, and even leaves you feeling like total shit after you eat it, which is cool.  As far as KFC’s “secret recipe”, I think its clear that it’s just a lot of salt.  I wanted this picture to read, so I bought the best processed fake chicken I could find. Cook it first in a pan and give it a little bit of a crust.   The mozzarella is FYH, and the bacon is Smart bacon.  I have to say, this was intense.  I ate the whole thing, and actually cried a little afterward.  I walked my dog shortly after finishing it, and I felt like everyone was staring at me like I just had gross sweaty sex in the back of a van.

Chicken Batter Recipe (From Cest La Vegan) :

1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons nutritional yeast (optional)
3 tablespoons yellow mustard
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 pound mock chicken (try White Wave wheat meat, Gardein or your favorite chicken substitute)
3 1/2 cups vegetable oil

Mix together the salt, onion powder, pepper, garlic powder, flour, and nutritional yeast in a deep bowl.  In a separate bowl, dilute the mustard with 1/2 cup water.Add 1/3 cup of the flour mixture to the mustard mixture and stir. Add the baking powder to the dry flour mixture and mix.Dip chunks of the mock chicken into the mustard batter, then drop each chunk into the flour mixture and coat with the desired amount of “crust.”Fry the chunks in hot oil on medium-high heat in a large skillet or deep fryer until crispy and golden brown, turning as needed.

15 comments

  1. Please provide the recipe for the chicken!


  2. [...] [atebitvegan] via [BuzzFeed] [...]


  3. FYI, MSG is KFC’s “secret recipe.” I got it from a book of chain restaurant’s recipes.


  4. “I have to say, this was intense. I ate the whole thing, and actually cried a little afterward. I walked my dog shortly after finishing it, and I felt like everyone was staring at me like I just had gross sweaty sex in the back of a van.”

    What does this mean? Did you like it or hate it?


  5. “I felt like everyone was staring at me like I just had gross sweaty sex in the back of a van.”
    I think it speaks for itself.

    BTW, I might visit this blog more, I like your style. :)


  6. Can we republish this on our site, damnfineeating.com? We’d of course credit you for the pic, etc.


    • Yeah sure, make sure you credit the bro that made it first, as well as the chicken recipe.


  7. Hmm…I bet KFC steers clear of nutritional yeast. But! The micken looks soooo chickeny. That’s a bit amazing. Maybe you should pitch this to the chain, because every fast food place wants to lure in that elusive vegan market…


  8. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Buzz Bishop, Roberto Baldwin, Roberto Baldwin, Clintus McGintus, andrew goldfarb and others. andrew goldfarb said: RT @ryan: I'm going to give a "hell yes!" to the vegan Double Down: http://bit.ly/dcb8qk [...]


  9. [...] I’m sure all you vegans have been totally fiending for the safe version of the KFC Double Down.  Ok, I know most of you really haven’t been but for the few unhealthy vegans (is there such a thing?) that want to have that same stomach erupting experience as the meat eaters,  find your recipe here. [...]


  10. As the creator of the “no offense” one, had I known it would end up spread about the Internet I would have actually made one that was badass instead of just a joke. Trust me, I could have done a way better job. However, I DID make the FIRST vegan double down. :)



  11. This is what i like most… eating this very delicious foods like this while surfing the net and blogging….

    Can you give me one for free…
    :D


  12. [...] Vegan KFC Double Down!! Never has a stupid sandwich created such chaos on the internet as the Double Down from KFC.  I’ve seen a couple [...] [...]


  13. This is amazing, and I might just have to make it – although it does scare me a little. I’m so glad you like the fried chicken recipe, but I do have to give credit to PETA since I originally got it from their vegetarian starter kit. Just spreadin’ the fried love…



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

